30.09.2013 Aktualizacja: 30.09.2013

The Election of the ICAO Council – the results from 2 of 3 Parts

The 2 of 3 Parts of the election of the ICAO Council have been conducted during the ongoing 38th Session of the International Civil Aviation Organization Assembly in Montreal. The election of the third group, from which the Polish representative candidates will be held on October 1. Polish candidate to the ICAO Council is Dr. Małgorzata Polkowska.

The following Member States from the 1st Group have been elected: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, United Kingdom, United States of America. The most Votes (160) obtained Brazil. Assembly have decided that from the 2nd group the following Member States will have their Representative to the Council: Argentina, Egypt, India, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Venezuela. The biggest amount of votes had Singapore.


The Council is composed of 36 Member States elected by the Assembly for a three-year term. In the election, adequate representation is given to States of chief importance in air transport, States not otherwise included but which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation and States not otherwise included whose designation will ensure that all major geographic areas of the world are represented on the Council.

The 38th Session of the ICAO Assembly is used for electronic voting system using all six official UN languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish). The electronic voting system uses wireless technology and allows delegates to vote from their seats with the help of tablets providing complete anonymity.

IMG 0579

IMG 0583



This website uses cookies.